A Christian Easter Hunt Telling the Story of Jesus’ Last Days on Earth {printable}

Easter Hunt 2013

Our family had a GREAT time with this Easter hunt!  As promised, this is the hunt where NO  eggs are needed!  You will need an old shoe!  Ha ha!  We found items to tell the REAL story of Easter!  We remembered the Reason for the Easter Season!

We started with finding leafy branches for the Triumphal Entry and ended with marshmallows for the Ascension.  After we found each item, we stopped to hear that part of the story.  The children were so excited, that there were a few times that it was a little hard to calm down and listen, but we did it!  {We have recently discussed all of these Bible passages as a family during our Family Lenten Devotions, so I was able to summarize a story or two!}

It was very difficult for us to read about Christ’s suffering.  My husband and I had to take turns because we were both weeping.  This was a part of the hunt that we did not run around to find an object.  I gave each child a cross to hold and then a sponge for that part of the story.

My favorite moment in the hunt was the look on my children’s faces when they opened a present and found nothing in it!  It represented the empty tomb!

Here are pictures of some of our fun!

hunt pics 1

Easter Hunt pics 2

Easter Hunt pics 3

Try putting the items back in order when your hunt is complete!…

items in order

I typed up directions and supplies for this Christian Easter Hunt so that other families might enjoy it, too!  I wanted an Easter hunt without the eggs and distractions.  I wanted to focus on Christ!  You can click below to print out your copy of the fun!  (When you find typos, please let me know!  🙂 )

easter hunt download pic

I hope your family enjoys this as much as we did!  

Some of the ideas for this hunt came from a seek-&-find book with hidden pictures called An Easter Hunt that we received as a gift a few years ago.  (Thanks, Mimi!)  I added items and created a real hunt to make it our own!

61dmTlMj6cL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Remember the Reason for the Easter Season!

13 thoughts on “A Christian Easter Hunt Telling the Story of Jesus’ Last Days on Earth {printable}

  1. Amanda

    Wow! I love this! I can’t wait to share this with some friends with younger children – and we’ll be doing this with our Littles in a few years. What a wonderful way to share God’s story! 🙂

    Reply
  2. terrikenworthy

    This is wonderful – thank you so much for sharing. Do you mind if I share it on my Facebook for others to use as well . . . I see you don’t have a facebook share button but maybe there’s another way to share it just by copying the link . . . any ideas? I’m not very technically savvy LOL.

    Reply
      1. terrikenworthy

        Great! I shared it – I think this is a great alternative (or addition) to the customary easter egg hunt. It can be so hard to teach the real meaning of Easter behind all the chocolate bunnies and Easter eggs. Thank you so much for making this available for us less creative types!

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Wordless Book… and 2 Fun Links for Celebrating Holy Week with Kids! | i have no greater joy

  4. daddystractor

    We made a set of resurrection eggs this year, which was a great improvement over regular egg hunts and I will be printing this as well! I’m working on a collection of Easter ideas– can’t have too many!!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Easter & Some Fun New Family Traditions | the learning house

  6. Pingback: Reflections… 1 year of blogging {it’s just me} | i have no greater joy

  7. Pingback: A Fun “Kick Off” for Lent {and more Easter activities} | i have no greater joy

Leave a comment