Our Top Ten Picks for Kids’ Bible Resources

fav bible resources kids

I thought it would be fun to share our top picks for kids’ Bible resources, and I thought it would  be really fun to hear about yours!   I asked each of our kids their favorites, and I’ve thrown Mom’s and Dad’s in, too!

arch books

In no particular order…

1.  Read Aloud Bible Stories by Ella K. Lindvall

These books were top picks from Mom, Dad, and Mary Sorrels (5).  They have been well-loved at our house for years.  The pictures are bold and bright and big!   The text is short and simple for even the youngest listeners.  We’ve read them so many times, I probably have them memorized!

lindvall

2.  Leven’s (9) favorite:  Rose Book of Bible Charts, Maps, and Timelines  

Leven loves details, comparing and contrasting, charts, and lists.  He spends a lot of time studying the information and pictures in this book!

image-5-3

3.  Catherine’s (8) top pick:  The Children’s Illustrated Bible 

I remember getting this Bible when the big kids were little.  They spent hours (I’m not kidding!)  looking at the pictures.  I think it must have been the first children’s Bible we purchased with realistic illustrations.  It is still getting looked at for hours. 😉

illus bibles

4.  Jack’s (5) favorite Bible:   The Jubilee Illustrated Family Bible

I think this book is Jack’s favorite because of the illustrations.  This is the book in which he saw a picture depicting the tragic story of John the Baptist’s death and saw his head on a plate.  He was shocked to actually see it.   He spends a lot of time looking at this book!

jubilee

5.  Mom’s favorite story Bible:   The Child’s Story Bible by Catherine F. Voss

This book has almost no illustrations.  The stories are perfect for reading aloud.  There is so much detail that my kids make “mind movies” while I read.  “Just as soon as he came to the bottom of the mountain, he took the golden calf and broke it in pieces.  Even that was not enough.  He put the pieces in a mill and ground them into a fine powder.  He threw the powder into some water, and made the people drink it.”  I think that’s a pretty good mind movie, don’t you?

6.   We all love Buck Denver Asks… What’s In the Bible? .

No joke.  All of us.  Adults included.  My kids have learned SO MUCH from these videos (and I actually wish I could the take credit for teaching them!).  😉  There were a few things in some of the videos that were a little too silly or a bit irreverent, but we talked about them and continue to watch and learn!

7.  ICB Version

Thanks to a GREAT suggestion from our friends at wingedwisdom our 3rd graders have Bibles that they can easily read and understand!  We purchased International Children’s Bibles for our big kids.  These Bibles are written on an elementary reading level and do not have pictures or stories.  They really are a translation for children.   And that’s just what we need because we’ve accepted our pastor’s challenge to read through the Bible in a year with our church!

icb c

8.  What the Bible is All About Bible Handbook for Kids

This book has a chapter by chapter break down of each book of the Bible!  It has been great for the older kids (and me, too!)  There are also  “Connecting _______ (any book of the Bible) With Jesus” sections and time lines for each book, as well.

bible all abt

9.  The New Bible in Pictures for Little Eyes by Kenneth N. Taylor

Well, you can just look at our copy and tell that we’ve used it a lot!  🙂

ken taylor bible

10.    Our last favorite Bible resource for kids is an electronic Bible.  🙂

71AGzzvjmeL._SX522_

This link isn’t the exact the one we have, but we gave our oldest a similar one for his birthday a couple of years ago.  He loves looking for verses with certain words, seeing how many times certain words appear, and really just playing around.   I guess this is a kid’s version of my smart phone app!  😉

You may also remember that we enjoy Journey Through the Bible and Glo!  You can read a little about those here.

 Moms, what are your families’ favorites?   I’d love to check them out!

Come, O children, listen to me;

I will teach you the fear of the LORD!

Psalm 34:11

15 thoughts on “Our Top Ten Picks for Kids’ Bible Resources

  1. daddystractor

    We are using What’s in the Bible with Buck Denver for our curriculum this year and we love them! (Yes, Mom and Dad too!). There are pages you can print from the internet and even an actual lesson set for use in Sunday School, but way too expensive for homeschool! They are perfect for us right now since no one in our house reads at an independent level yet. Ditto exactly what you said about a few things that are too silly, but we’ve all learned so much!! I’m putting this on my Easter Pinterest board for gift ideas!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I didn’t know that! Neat! Thanks so much for sharing that! I’ll check it out! And thanks for the pin! I still haven’t actually joined Pinterest yet…. I know I’m missing out on some great ideas!

      Reply
  2. sharrielynn

    Thank you! This is great! We’re using Egermeier’s Bible Story Book, and I feel like it’s good, but it took forever to get my kiddos ‘into’ it. I was browsing for Bible lesson coloring sheets to engage them, and I found the ‘What’s in the Bible’ website. We started watching the videos each time we finish a section the videos covered. Wonderful! I agree, there are a few things that are pretty silly, and we usually have to discuss a topic or two, but they are just so great! I’m going to look into purchasing the ‘Rose Book of Bible Charts, Maps, and Timelines’. It looks like a wonderful resource. 🙂

    Reply
      1. sharrielynn

        I think it is. The illustrations are definitely older, and that was what my kids were having trouble with. They like it now, though. It just took a little getting used to.

        Reply
  3. godmadeknown

    Wow! You ARE thorough! My husband and I both grew up on the old Ken Taylor Bible stories and all our boys have loved his Favorite Bible Stories which isn’t cartoony as a lot of bible story books tend to be. Unfortunately, Gideon destroyed a good section of it during church last week.:( Our favorite Bible story book is still The Bible. When you read it straight from the source there is so much else that can be pulled out to apply to their little hearts and minds and so much more fuel for questions and discussion. When we are constantly exposing stuff to kids at their own level we miss out on the richness of actually teaching them God’s truths in our own words, from our own hearts. Oh, and the Rose Charts, Maps, and Timelines is awesome. Great pick by Leven!

    Reply
  4. frolickingflamingo

    My oldest, who is 11, is enjoying the Children’s International Field Guide to the Bible this year. It came with out Sonlight curriculum. I’m definitely going to order a the ICB version though, for my youngest.

    Reply
  5. Hilary

    Thanks so much for the resource ideas. I’m constantly on the hunt for great bible resources for the kids. I often use the ministry to children website but they are a bit lengthy for my smaller ones so I try to chop it down. They usually offer coloring pages with it which I really like. I usually know what I want to say to the kids I just don’t have time or the right resources to have worksheets, coloring pages or hands on activities to go with the lessons. Right know I’m on the hunt for a good series on the fruits of the Spirit. Thanks again for your post. It was great!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I understand! Having a follow-up activity to reinforce learning is helpful. Like you, I don’t have a lot of extra time, either! Whew! I guess I’ve been living under a rock because I hadn’t heard of the ministry-to-children website! Just checked it out! Thanks so much for telling me about that and for stopping by i have no greater joy! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

