By 8:30 {am} Checklist/ Chore Chart

done by 8-30

I have shared a post on our chores before…  a long while ago… back when I thought I knew what I was doing!  😉  Now I know that I don’t!  Ha!  We had a great little system working out.  We completed morning tasks that helped get our day started and also afternoon jobs that contributed to keeping our home tidy.  Everything went well… until Christmas break.  {Maybe chores shouldn’t stop just because school does!}  In January, the kids did their morning jobs in such a leisurely way, that it was difficult to start school on time.old chores

What’s a mom to do?  I needed a way to help the kids stay attentive and diligent long enough to get themselves ready for {home}school without me right beside them.  The chore list was no longer working.  I stumbled on this post and thought a flip chore chart might help.  Things aren’t perfect.  The Von Trapp children don’t march out of their rooms each morning single file, perfectly dressed at the toot of a whistle.  Sometimes, I still need to encourage the kids to stay on target, but this has helped us move toward independence again!  We use this chart as our “By 8:30 Checklist”.

chores 3

What I like about this chart:

1.  There are no pieces that might get lost.  If we had a chore chart with moveable magnets or a pocket chart with cards, something would be MIA within a week.

2.  The children can do the chores in any order that works best and be good stewards of their time.  “I can’t brush my teeth because someone else is in the bathroom.”  When we used a chore list or chore tags, the kids worked through the jobs in order. With the flip chart, kids can go on to another chore and make the best use of their time.

chore chart 2

3.  The children can easily see what still needs to be done.  With a chore list, it was easy for the kids to leave things out.  Now they can see  if the pj’s haven’t been put away.  “I haven’t fed the dog.”  “I only have 1 chore left!”  It helps the kids to have a picture of progress!  It’s a great motivator!

I used file folders in order to have a chart that would flip up or pull down.  What I had on hand wasn’t cute. 😉  Colored folders would be great!  I had to overlap two folders and glue them together for each chart in order to have a chart long enough to accommodate the pictures I found.

Inspiration for our chore chart came from several places.  The original (cute!) chore chart was made using colored card stock from My Name is Snickerdoodle.  She has a great tutorial on how to make the chart!  Click below to visit her site.

SimpleChoreChart

Please click this picture to view the chore chart tutorial from My Name is Snickerdoodle.

I also love this Before 8:45 checklist from Everyday Homemaking. I found it through a post at  Hodgepodge.  This picture is from a post at Habits for a Happy Home.

img_1424

I still love the resource from Titus 2 that I shared on my first chore post.  It helped in putting together a chore system, but we do not use the chore packs.

One day, getting ready to begin the day will be a habit for my kids that won’t need a chart!  We are getting there….

If you’d like to print the circles we used for our chore charts, click the picture below.  The circles include:  brush teeth, wipe the counter, make bed, get dressed, put away PJs (We wear ours 2 nights!), tidy room, comb or brush hair, and feed the dog.  There are some extra blank circles, too!

print chore chart

Soon I’ll be sharing…

photo-102

photo-103

… and more Excitement in Exodus!  🙂

12 thoughts on “By 8:30 {am} Checklist/ Chore Chart

    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      It has been especially good for the pre readers! And one of those helpful CM techniques has been nice for getting morning chores done in a more timely manner– free time when completed! Morning chores used to take us double the time that I thought was actually necessary. The kids began working more quickly, I was so tempted to begin school earlier when everyone was using the charts and getting free time before school. I just try to remind myself that my goal in all of this chore training is NOT to begin school earlier but to teach the kids how to work on something with attention, focus, and diligence– to completion! They love that little bit of free time, and I do, too!

      Reply
  1. 2livelovelearn

    Thank you for this idea! A baby and a move and a few added responsibilities seem to have messed with our equilibrium too! I love the flip chart idea! We’ve tried different things with some success but are needing, like you said, something that doesn’t get lost and they can do more on their own. Love it- thank you so much!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      If it were me with a new baby and a move, I’m not sure I’d be able to accomplish any chores! I know how nice it is to get back to routine, though! I guess we moms are all for putting in the work if it helps produce good habits in the end!

      Reply
  2. daddystractor

    Oh my! I just added the things for the chart to my Wal-Mart list yesterday! Great minds think alike 😉 I may have to borrow those pics too– non-readers around here still!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: O is for… | wingedwisdom

  4. Especially Made

    Just wanted to thank you for sharing this! I finally got around to making the flip chart, and we all love it! You’re absolutely right! No more small pieces to lose. We had a magnet chart that I’ve scrapped. I know there are some pieces that are still under our fridge. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

