Makes Me Merry Monday #4

makes me merry mon

Whew!  Is it still Monday?  Am I too late?  😉

Dump Cake Deliciousness

I would like to blame my love of quick-cooking on my third trimester of pregnancy.  However, I think my desire to have meals on the table in as little time as possible is just characteristic of the past few years of my life!   With four (soon to be five) kiddos under ten, I’m a busy lady.   I want my family to enjoy meals, I just don’t want to spend hours cooking them!   One day, when I feel less “spread thin”, I’ll take the time to “create” in the kitchen.  It’s just not a priority for our family right now.  A wise friend told me that when you are spending time on anything, you are “stealing it” from something else.  Some things are worth stealing time for; some things aren’t.

Any cookbook with quick, fast, mix, or easy in the title catches my eye!

quick cooking

For a while, I loved cake mix cookies… easy with endless combinations.  All I needed was a box of cake mix, 2 eggs, and 1/3 cup of oil.  I could use chocolate cake mix with peanut butter chips, strawberry cake mix with white chocolate chips, yellow cake mix with M&M’s

Lately, we’ve been having fun with dump cakes at my house!  Are you already a dump cake lover?  There are tons of possibilities, and DUMP CAKES ARE SO EASY and delicious!

All you need for a dump cake is a pie filling or fruit, a box of cake mix, and a stick of butter.

1.  Dump 2 cans of fruit pie filling (or fruit in syrup) in a 9 X 13 ” dish.

2.  Sprinkle a box of cake mix over the fruit.

3.  Pour a stick (and a half… 😉 ) of melted butter over the top.

(or you can slice the butter thin and place it over the top)

Don’t stir.  Bake on 350 for about 45 minutes.

Easy yumminess.  Even on a weeknight.  😉

You have a cobbler-like buttery crust with fruity goodness underneath.

dump

Ummm…. I’m no food photographer!

These are the combos we’ve tried…

  • cherry pie filling with butter cake mix
  • apple pie filling with spice cake mix
  • blueberry pie filling with lemon cake mix
  • cherry pie filling, crushed pineapples, and Funfetti cake mix

Mmmm… wouldn’t bananas with caramel and banana cake mix be good?  Or cherries with chocolate cake mix?  Or peaches with strawberry cake mix?

We’ve tried a pumpkin pie dump cake sprinkled with pecans.  We’ve tried our usual dump cakes sprinkled with chocolate chips.  The possibilities are endless…. and easy!

If you haven’t tried dump cakes yet, you should!  I bet you have everything you need right in the pantry!

Easy desserts make me merry!

Happy Dumping!

For 2 of my favorite quick dinner options, check out….

Pepperoni Cheese Ravioli

Chicken Parmesan Pizza

Leave a Reply

