Honey and Hebrew

handh2

The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul,

The testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple;

The precepts of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart;

The commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes;

The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever;

The rules of the LORD are true, and righteous altogether.

More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold;

Sweeter also than honey and drippings of the honeycomb!

Psalm 19:7-10

psalm19-10

We are embarking on a new journey in homeschool this year —  we are beginning to learn Hebrew!

We had a little picnic in the living room and tasted sweet honey,

but learning Hebrew is even sweeter!

photo 1-17

“And why so excited about learning the Hebrew alphabet?  Because it [is] the first step to hearing God speak, to studying the words which the Creator Himself has given on life, the universe, and everything.  What could be better?” –Kim McKay, Biblical Hebrew

honeypicnic

Do you mind if I take a little detour here and ramble for a minute? …  This summer I did a Bible study on Proverbs 31 through Doorposts.  It was the first time ever that I had really studied the original language and meaning of a Bible passage.  I find my husband doing this quite often– looking at the Hebrew and Greek meanings of words in passages for a clearer understanding.  I looked up these words and couldn’t believe the things I’d been missing!

Here is a little example that might resonate with you mamas… Proverbs 31:12 says “She does him good, and not evil, all the days of her life.”  Pretty simple, right?  I’m not lying, check.  I’m not cheating, check.  I’m not struggling with addictions, check.  I’m not spending too much money, check.  I’m doing pretty good on the ‘no evil’ scale.  I’ve got that one; move on.  BUT WAIT, the Hebrew word that is translated as evil, ra’, the original language of the passage– doesn’t always mean that.  The Hebrew word that we translate as evil can mean unpleasant, disagreeable, sad, unhappy.  Yikes!  There are days that I am ‘evil’!  Do you see how that really changes the meaning?

“Reading the Bible in translation is like kissing your new bride through a veil.”

~Nachman Bialik

So, each day during my little Bible study, I would excitedly share my new-found knowledge of Hebrew with Charles.  He finally asked, “Why don’t you and the kids learn the Hebrew alphabet this year?”  Why not?  So, we are beginning small and just learning the alphabet.  It may take us all year; it may take us longer.  We’ve got all the time in the world.

We are slowly learning each letter, and I’m already amazed after learning just the first two!

board

Here is a very brief but interesting Hebrew lesson I’ve learned:

The second letter in the Hebrew alphabet (sort of like our B) is bet.  Its symbol is a house, and it looks like this:

photo-277

It is the “bet” in all of the Beth-so-and-so names of the Bible that mean “House of ____”.

Bethlehem, House of Bread, the birthplace of Jesus

Bethsaida, the hometown of Andrew, Peter, and Philip, House of Fishing 🙂

Bethany, Home of Dates

Bethesda, the Jerusalem healing pool, House of Steadfast Love

Jacob renamed the place of his vision Bethel, House of God

…and many more!  Isn’t that neat?!

“In the Hebrew language, we hear God speak… thus study directed toward learning this language might rightly be called a kind of worship.”  

~Martin Luther

And if we’re going to learn the alphabet of the Old Testament, why not learn the language of the New as well?  We are also, SLOWLY, learning the Greek alphabet.   You’d think the kids would get a bit confused, because we are, after all, in our 3rd year of Latin, but their young brains are doing better than mine!  🙂

greek:hebrew books

I chose the books that I did because I am not ready to “learn” Greek or speak Hebrew, but want a gentle, slow introduction to the alphabets.  Here are links for the resources we are using that you can click if you’d like to read more:

Biblical Hebrew, A Homeschool Primer

A Greek Alphabetarion & A Greek Hupogammon 

And this book is one that I have to KEEP my kids from doing too much of:

photo-279

Greek Alphabet Code Cracker

The kids are studying the Greek alphabet and translating words in order to get clues that help  solve a mystery!

I am really enjoying this new little journey in our homeschool this year.  I never thought that in my mid-thirties I’d be studying 3 languages all new to me!

I look at this introduction to Hebrew and Greek as a little stepping stone on the path of fostering  a love and a deeper understanding for God’s Holy Word that will go with my children for the rest of their lives!

photo 2-24

a nice reward for learning Hebrew or Scripture… Bit-O-Honey

“How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!”  Psalm 119:103

I would love to share all of our curriculum soon.  🙂

************

 A Little Blog Housekeeping

1.  Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts.  I know time is limited and precious.  I thank you for using a bit of yours to visit me here.  🙂  I am also most grateful for the comments and encouragement I receive from moms.  You have shared so many ideas with me, and I always look forward to hearing from you.

2.  I know it is a lot of trouble to get a post notice in your email or reader and then have to click over here to read it.  😦  I am really weird about sending pictures of my family straight to strangers’ computers.  Yes, it is nearly the same as strangers clicking over to my blog and seeing pictures– I told you, I’m weird. 😉  But when I haven’t actually sent them, it seems more like the pictures are still mine.  🙂

3.  I am thinking about starting a new series of short posts on Mondays called “Makes Me Merry Monday” but certainly don’t want to flood anyone’s email accounts!  If it seems like a lot of new posts lately, it’s just because this is a “homeschool blog” and we are getting started with a new homeschool year.   The posts on Mondays will be short and sweet– just a way for me to share simple things that make life easier in home or school… little products, recipes, links I love, etc.  The number of posts you are getting will slow down.  🙂  {And lets face it, the Monday posts may not even last!  This is actually the third series I’ve attempted here!  Ha!  Remember Fix it Fast Friday, anyone?  Probably not… it only lasted for 2 Fridays!}  :-/

makes me merry mon

4.  The Bible study that I’ve mentioned several times and enjoyed so much can be found here on the Doorposts blog.  {This link takes you to day 1 of the study.}   This was going to be one of my “Makes Me Merry Monday” posts, but I’d rather tell you about it now!  🙂

Thank you for reading, friends.  🙂  You make me merry!

20 thoughts on “Honey and Hebrew

      1. storiesofourboys

        I really should. Also, you have an awesome memory to remember I’m reading through the Bible this year. I also started the character lessons you recommended this past week. It was a short school week because we have family visiting, but I can’t wait to dive into them. I always get great ideas from your blog!!

        Reply
  1. sage_brush

    Just a note from – please be careful about using Greek and Hebrew lexionaries. For example, Thayer’s Greek/English Lexicon was authored by a Unitarian, who devoted his entire life in trying to prove the Trinity does not exist and that Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit are not God.

    There are many so-called scholars publishing revised “translations” of words in the KJV that readers are uncomfortable with. I really recommend a Webster’s 1828 Dictionary, for the true understanding of the words as they were intended in the 1611 KJV. You can access it for free here – and it has an excellent search engine.

    http://webstersdictionary1828.com/

    I say this out of love, as a Bible teacher, who sees all too many fall under the spell of Hort and Westcott through trying to expand what is actually in the Bible.

    Reply
  2. Lee

    Hi There! I really want to encourage you on this new journey. After reading God’s Word for many years I felt that I was stilling missing something. So, I purchased a parallel Hebrew-Greek Bible and a commentary to revert to the original message. Yes! – It really does change the message! I can safely say we are shortchanging ourselves when we don’t dig into the Word in such a way to find the original meaning. The Lord has taught me so much through this kind of study. However, for some odd reason, it never occurred to me to get the kids in on this! Sad- I know! How selfish of me! So thank you so much for sharing this post because it has really given me a lot to think about and also to become excited about. I know our efforts will pay off when we see our grown children serving the Lord with their own families. Keep us posted on how it’s going. I’m going to check out those resources you suggested. Blessing in Christ! 🙂

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      You are right! Won’t it be a blessing to see our grown children just as you’ve said? 🙂 I’d love to hear about exactly what you’ve purchased, and I am looking for a study that would help my big kids learn to use some of the resources we use– whether in books, the concordance, or online. If you run across anything, let me know! How old are your kiddos again? I’ll hop back over to your blog and try to find out! Thanks for the encouragement. Xxxx!

      Reply
  3. Heather

    Awesome ideas! I, too, was inspired by the P31 study. In fact, I downloaded the Blue Letter Bible app on my phone so when I’m reading my Bible each day, it’s easily accessible. My hubby is more interested in the kids learning Greek or Hebrew rather than Latin I think, so I have some investigating to do. Thanks for the links!! Blessings, friend! 🙂

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I noticed some children’s Bible studies on Doorposts that encourage kids to learn to use the concordance. I thought the studies might be a little too advanced for my kids just yet, but I’m still looking for something that would help them dig a little deeper. I’ve shown them the BLB app, and they were very interested. I guess I could always add in deeper word study to an already existing children’s Bible study. My big kids are still reading through the Bible this year for their quiet time, but in January, I’d like them to do something at a SLOWER pace. That P31 study was really great for me I thought. I loved spending so much time in just a chapter! Have you ever used this or any other similar study for your bigs? http://www.christianbook.com/the-hidden-treasures-in-philippians/evelyn-wheeler/9781886930254/pd/30252?product_redirect=1&Ntt=30252&item_code=&Ntk=keywords&event=ESRCP
      I’m going to look into the Proverbs resource you mentioned.
      We are just barely scratching the surface of Greek and Hebrew and this year, but I want to take things slowly! 🙂 What are you using for Latin? Still Mem Press?

      Reply
      1. Heather

        For Christmas, I bought my daughter (age 9) the Goldie Doll from Doorposts that includes the Beauty in the Heart Bible study. It was on sale, and now that I’m looking at it, she may still be too young for it so I might have to put it in the closet for another year or two. 🙂 But the study teaches different ways of studying the Bible. I read through the Bible each year with the MacArthur Daily Bible and my daughter is very interested in joining me next year (yay!) so I’ll buy her one of her own and hope to use the BLB quite a bit as we read. This year I’ve had her working on the Kids Inductive Bible study (Discover 4 Yourself) by Kay Arthur. Abby loves the book of Esther, so she’s been quite motivated to work on it and it’s very similar to how we did things in the P31 study. I haven’t heard of the study you linked, but I will check it out! As far as Latin, we’re doing Mem Press. We’re struggling with motivation at this stage in the game . . . it’s seems to be so time consuming and so half the time it doesn’t get done. I’m seriously thinking about rebelling against the Classical/Charlotte Mason homeschooling and just chucking the Latin, but I do see merit to it. 🙂 I might do word study instead . . . not really sure. Our spelling program (All About Spelling) goes into Latin and Greek roots which might be a good starting point for deeper study when we’re done (another couple months). I agree that when you add the original Biblical languages to study, it enriches our understanding exponentially! I’m just trying to figure out the best way to implement it in our school! 🙂 I recently read this post (http://raisingolives.com/2009/10/why-teach-greek/) and it’s given me a lot of food for thought. And like I said, my husband is leaning toward investing our time more heavily in Greek/Hebrew study (but also Spanish! :)) Anyway, you seem to have found a happy groove for your family with your alphabet study, so way to go! You might find us surrounded by Hebrew letters during Circle Time soon, too! 🙂

        Reply
        1. Heather

          What we need to do is WRITE a curriculum that incorporates memory verses (i.e. an entire chapter of a book) with a word study in either Greek or Hebrew for that passage FOR KIDS, teaching them the alphabets as we teach them to study. But that might be biting off a little more than I can chew considering I’m not fluent in either language . . . 🙂

          Reply
  4. SolaceSafeguardian

    Praise God for this journey into the amazing world of the Hebrew language. It is awe inspiring and soooo beautiful. I will never look at the bible the same way after learning and teaching my children from the Hebrew and Greek. I can not wait to see where you go with this as you continue to share with us …I love your blog and page and am very blessed by it! Thank you! I recommend a few links we found wonderful!

    http://www.elshaddaiministries.us/messages/aleph_beit_series.html

    http://www.hebrew4christians.com/index.html

    http://qbible.com/hebrew-old-testament/deuteronomy/32.html

    http://videos.shalomtv.com/video-categories/from-the-alephbet

    (also my own blog, I go through the weekly Torah portions and other topical teachings from the ancient languages : http://www.safeguardingtheeternal.wordpress.com )

    One small tip, you are probably already doing this, but try and learn the vowel points right away. It will help when learning to read at a quicker rate. ❤

    Blessings and Shalom! שָׁלוֹם

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Oh, thank you! Thank you for taking the time to share all of those links with me! I just downloaded some flashcards from one, and I look forward to spending more time looking around all of them. Your words are encouraging and spur me on to continue!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: New “Busy Mamas” Bible Study from Doorposts! YAY! | i have no greater joy

Leave a Reply

