Goodbye Summer…

goodbye summer

Oh, Summer, where did you go?

Things I’ll remember…

Red-faced, sweaty kids.  Mosquitoes.  Fun trips.  Loving our beautiful yard.  Watching the kids ride bikes around and around and around our driveway.  Hearing our baby’s heartbeat.  Being thankful for this family and the blessing of staying home with these precious kiddos.  

Realizing that these days probably make up the best years of my life.

lots and lots of bike rides

lots and lots of bike rides

j bike

One twin can read to the other :)

One twin can read to the other 🙂

loveless

a weekend trip to Nashville… delicious Southern breakfast… fried green tomato pimento cheese biscuit

parth in n'ville

A visit to the Parthenon in Nashville was a perfect complement to our Ancient Greece studies!

party for mom

These kids are always having fun together! This was a special “mom party” they threw for me!

cemetary

a Fourth of July trip to a family cemetery

Leven tombstonemy Leven sees another “Levin”

I spent time this summer doing an amazing study of Proverbs 31 through the folks at Doorposts.

I spent time this summer doing an amazing study of Proverbs 31 through the folks at Doorposts.

I kept reminders in my kitchen all summer.

I kept reminders in my kitchen all summer.

We waited and waited and waited some more for rain.  Here is Catherine singing the doxology when we finally felt drops!

We waited and waited and waited some more for rain. Here is Catherine singing the doxology when we finally felt drops!

Praise the LORD!

Praise the LORD!

a stop at the space center on our way to the beach

a stop at the space center on our way to the beach

I'll always remember that this is the summer that little sister surpassed big brother in height.  He's taken really well.

I’ll always remember that this is the summer that little sister surpassed big brother in height. He’s taken it really well.

another stop in Chattanooga… We rode the incline railway to the top of Lookout Mountain.  Yes, I shed tears.  :(

another stop in Chattanooga… We rode the incline railway to the top of Lookout Mountain. Yes, I shed tears. 😦

 

at the top!

at the top!

Legoland

Legoland

Seriously??!!

Seriously??!!

THE BEACH!!!!

THE BEACH!!!!

We had ocean kayaks during our beach trip.  Leven had a blast!

We had ocean kayaks during our beach trip. Leven had a blast!

The kids played and laughed and played and laughed all day!

The kids played and laughed and played and laughed all day!

in the water

beach

We serve an awesome God!

our driveway

As much asI HATED to leave the beach, I do so love coming home and driving up this driveway.

c's cookies

My Catherine is just 8, but it sure doesn’t seem like it. She’s been making us cookies this summer all by herself. Her specialty is peanut butter!

 

bday picnic

Look at all these twins. Charles’ and I are truly blessed! 🙂 We have the most precious god-children, and were so thankful to see them grow and be a part of their lives over the past year! This is their first birthday!

I got to see THE SWEETEST face ever.

I got to see THE SWEETEST face ever.

It was a great summer, and I’m looking forward to a fabulous fall!

Here’s to lots of memories!

Happy First Day of Fall!  

14 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer…

    1. rosalind ramsey bailey

      Shannon, your grandmother has been telling me about your blog. Please add me to your list to see all of your posts. Love, Aunt Roz!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Reply
      1. i have no greater joy Post author

        OH, YAY! So good to hear from you! I am so glad you found my blog so that you can keep up with us! 🙂 You’ll get to see the new baby that way, too! 🙂 If you want to get the posts in your email inbox, just add your address in the box at the top of the page. Then you will have to confirm your subscription in your email. The box is on the right, right at the top of my post pages now. Keep in touch! Love you!

        Reply
  1. Charles

    You are right to treasure these days in your heart. And one day you will recollect on them with nostalgia. I know it’s hard to imagine, but the best is yet to come. Though the path is at times treacherous, the best is always to come.

    Reply
  2. storiesofourboys

    Your Bible verse reminders are so much cuter than mine (sticky notes). Where did you get those boards???
    You had a fantastic summer. Wow. That makes me miss the South! And the 8 year old baking cookies. Oh, that’s a good deal you have.

    Reply
  3. godmadeknown

    Precious memories to flood your soul! Thank you so much for sharing all the sweet pictures with us. The trips looked so fun, but I think, like you, that I’d smile whenever I drove up the driveway of your beautiful home as well.

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Well, I don’t think many would appreciate a tree fort in the front yard, but thank you for seeing its beauty with me! 🙂 I loved your post. Sounds like wonderful childhood memories… bear bait and all!

      Reply
  4. Heather

    I did the Proverbs 31 study with Doorposts this summer, too! Wasn’t it wonderful? I’ve been happily adding several of their resources to our homeschool this year. Loved the peek at your lovely summer. Happy Fall! 🙂

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Oh, yes, I loved the P31 study! So, can you believe another baby?! I had an ultrasound as soon as we found out! Wondered if I might be having more twins! 😉 It’s just one this time. How is your school year going? I’d love to hear about you Doorposts stuff…. what do you like?

      Reply
      1. Heather

        I was SO excited to see your pregnancy announcement…and a teensy bit jealous. 🙂 I love babies! My twinnies are 4.5 and my bigs are 7 & 9 (sniff, sniff). They grow so fast!! School is going well, although our one hiccup right now is Latin. Are you still teaching that? Do you like your curriculum? I’ve invested heavily in Doorposts this summer. 🙂 In addition to For Instruction In Righteousness (and the accompanying charts), I bought both Polished Cornerstones and Plants Grown Up for character development (although I’m interested in the program you posted about earlier, too, especially for the twins). And each morning we read a chapter in Proverbs, so I bought Hidden Treasures to aid us in that (fantastic resource!). Will you do Pam’s next Bible study later this year? Goodness, I’ve written a book…sorry to hijack your comments! 🙂 Blessings to you and your growing family!!!

        Reply
        1. i have no greater joy Post author

          I know 😦 My bigs are 8 and 9. Every morning I ask them, “Where did my little boy and girl go?” Ok, about Latin… we started 2 years ago with Prima Latina and then instead of moving to Latina Christiana last year, we did Songschool Latin– super easy, like too easy. However, we did learn a lot of vocabulary words and phrases, but no conjugations or declensions. Now, we are on week 8 of Latina Christiana. I may move to back Classical Academic Press next year if the next Memoria seems too difficult or we just plain don’t like it. We are doing a little Greek this year and using one of the CAP books for that. The kids really like it, but I hate that we lose that Christian focus.
          Ok, I have PGU and PC from Doorposts, but haven’t used them in a few years. I think I got a little overwhelmed, and something had to go. It probably shouldn’t have been that! 😦 I saw the Hidden Treasures book. Do you love it?? I also have FIIR and love that, too. Boy, those folks are great!

          Reply

Leave a Reply

