Lessons in Humility

humility flute2

This is a short and sweet post… just to share with you a neat little story about a flute.

But first I’d like to tell you– we’ve been working on the character quality of humility at my house this week.  We’ve used a curriculum that I mentioned before, and I love it!  It’s called Little Lads and Ladies of Virtue, and it’s available for immediate download HERE.   Each week (or two), we learn all about a new character quality– it’s definition, a corresponding Bible verse, activities, prayers, and 3 “I wills.”  Here’s a peek at this week’s main page.

humility main

We learned that humility is not taking credit for what God and others have done for me.

We usually try to make up hand motions to go with the week’s “I wills…” and here’s Jack showing his hand motions this week.

I will…

humility i wills

The curriculum suggested that I act out the Bible verse for this week…

james 4-6

humility verse jack

Finally, here is the flute story!  🙂

I’d love to share this with you in hopes that your children might benefit from it as much as mine did…

       Imagine that you are at a symphony and a world-premier flautist has taken center stage.  People have traveled from all over to hear him bring his flute to life.  That evening the audience is not disappointed.  When the final note is played, the crowd jumps to its feet in a standing ovation.

         Then something strange happens.  The flute jumps out of the man’s hands and begins bowing and blowing kisses to the audience.  “Thank you!  Thank you!” it chimes. 

          The audience laughs uproariously at this spectacle.  They know the truth:  A flute is just the instrument.  It is the person breathing life into it who deserves the credit.

Don’t you love that picture?  🙂

And the author continues…

        We can explain to our children that it is just as silly to brag when we do something great.  It is God who has given us the abilities and gifts to succeed.  We should enjoy them, but give God the praise.

I hope you and your kiddos enjoy the flute story as much as we did!  It is from this super neat book…

creative correction

Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel  

 Well, there you have it.  Short and sweet… I think.  😉

Here is a related post with an activity I did with my kiddos to teach them “the Lord sees not as man sees; man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the heart.”  You can also find copy work for “humility” and other character qualities HERE.

1-sam-activ

P.S…. I don’t think that’s a flute in my picture up there, is it?  :-/

8 thoughts on “Lessons in Humility

      1. mwfinchwren

        I am sure they are! Our baby days are much behind us…I miss those sweet precious ones! Not that our big 12yo is not a joy and a delight, for he is. He’s just way too big to carry on my hip! 🙂

        Reply

Leave a Reply

