Olive Shoots, a Mother’s Day Gift, Blessed

Things have been quiet around the blog lately, but it’s been as loud and as busy as ever around our house!   Here’s a snapshot of our latest celebration…

baby post

That’s right!  Little olive shoot # 5 is on the way!  We are so very thankful, so blessed.

“Blessed the man that fears Jehovah and that walketh in His ways; he shall eat of thy hands’ labor and be prospered all thy days.  Like a vine with fruit abounding in thy house thy wife is found, and like olive plants thy children compassing thy table round.”       (from Psalm 128, my favorite psalm to sing ~ You can read all about it here.)

My husband and I had known about our newest blessing since early April… for a whole month before we told our other children. It was hard to keep such joyous news a secret for so long!  However, we wanted to wait and share our excitement with all of the grandparents on Mother’s Day, and we knew the other kiddos would “spill the beans” to everyone they saw if they found out!  Meanwhile, they continued to pray for another baby each and every day.  🙂

A couple of days before Mother’s Day, we decided to finally share the big secret with the kids.  We all sat around the table eating dinner as usual when Dad showed them a picture from the first ultrasound.

ultrasound

That’s when I received the best Mother’s Day gift ever…  It was better than flowers, jewelry, sleeping late, having a day off.  It was one that I will ‘treasure up- pondering it in my heart’.  My sweet kiddos jumped up from their seats and shouted and laughed and hugged each other.  I heard #1 say, “This is the best day of my life!”   They danced around and jumped and were filled with joy– and so was I.  They forgot all about dinner!  I heard “Thank you, Father!”  and even “Woo hoo!”  It was a par-tay!  Then I heard the soft, sweet voice of my teeny, youngest daughter trying to be heard over the shouts.  “Come on guys!  Let’s go play!”   “Yeah!”  The four bounded into the den.

What?!  I don’t think so.  My mama-brain clicked into high gear.  We aren’t going skip dinner!

I walked into the den and found my kids kneeling, not playing but PRAYING.

photo

My little one had suggested that they pray, not play.  My heart melted.  They wanted to thank the One from Whom all blessings flow.  They knew that this tiny miracle was knit together by the Lord and their hearts wanted to praise Him and thank Him!  Seeing my children kneeling and praying that day was the best Mother’s Day gift I’ve ever received.  “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.”  No.  Greater.  Joy.

Later that night, after all of the excitement and laughter and answers to questions and imagining what our baby will look like or when Baby’s birthday will be or what we will name our baby, I found my thoughtful, sweet, five-year-old son working to write something at the kitchen table.  He was copying from the Psalter.

photo

photo

“It’s for you.  It’s your favorite, Mom.”

Blessed.  Blessed indeed.

“For Jehovah out of Zion will to thee His blessing send!”    Psalm 128:5

 

27 thoughts on “Olive Shoots, a Mother’s Day Gift, Blessed

  1. Rebecca Schuttger

    Praise Jehovah! I was so exited to hear the news. Truly, from the mouth of babies and children He has ordained praise! Y’all are in my thoughts and prayers. 🙂
    Rebecca S.

    Reply
  2. Mom

    Such a joyful, happy post! Children are indeed precious and they will melt your heart more times than not. Love you, mom

    Reply
  3. Less to More

    Nice blog! And congratulations! My first pregnancy, my husband and I wanted to surprise our family for Christmas. The problem was Christmas was 3 months away. It wasn’t easy keeping it a secret. I think everyone just thought I was putting on the pounds after the holiday meals.

    Reply
  4. godmadeknown

    Finally! I was starting to think you were never going to post again and then I’d just have to drop WordPress all together:) I am so excited for you and your whole family. We also kept it a secret from our boys for a while and just kept telling them that we had a feeling it was going to be the best year of their lives and it has been! It will be for your kiddos, too! The joy of a little baby in the house is incomparable to anything else and I’m so thankful we had another chance to experience it while the others were old enough to really enjoy it. What an amazing testimony to your children of God’s answer to prayers! And your children are a testimony to us all of unbridled gratitude to the Giver of all good things.

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      You are really making me even more excited! Leven and Catherine were 2 and 3 when the twins were born and really don’t remember much. Who am I kidding?! I don’t even remember very much! 4 under 4 was such a blur! I can’t wait to enjoy it all over again and appreciate everything one more time!

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Thank you! Just saw your wheat post! 😦 I’m sad for you! We are having to replant cotton this week– LATE! Lots of prayers each day, right? God gives the increase! Thanks for the congrats! We are excited!

      Reply
  5. prairiepaisley.jodi

    What great news! I haven’t been on here for a while and my ipad hadn’t refreshed your blog, I was still back on St.Patricks Day;) sooo fun about your children and so sweet of them. You are going into a fun new adventure, God is So Good!!! Blessings to all of you!
    I emailed you a couple notes a few days ago, didn’t know if you received them or if they went into your junk?

    Reply
  6. Alma Mater

    Wow! What a beautiful response your children had to this blessing. Truly remarkable. You’re doing a good job training them up in the way they should go, Mama!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

