Easy Art for St. Patrick’s Day

art stpday

While I haven’t mentioned it here, St. Patrick’s Day is a great time to talk about the Trinity!  Take a minute to read our St. Patrick’s Day post from last year about Teaching the Trinity and then come back here for a few easy art ideas!  Last year’s post includes some fun activities, a printable, and a simple song for remembering the Trinity!  🙂

st-pat-day

Click here to visit

We took an afternoon this week to get out the paints and pastels…

I got the idea for cork shamrocks from a post at Happy Hooligans.  Aren’t’ these flowers cute?  😉

IMG_9969

I thought the corks used for the flowers would make great shamrocks!

cork shamrocks

Did you know I was art major in college?  (Ok, it was only for 1 semester!)  I have wanted to find ways to incorporate art instruction into our homeschool, but I’ve had a hard time figuring that out!  I purchased A Seasonal Start in Spring Chalk Pastels from Hodgepodge.  It was such an easy solution!  My kids thought their pieces were MASTERpieces!   I think that is what I liked most about this activity… we followed the instructions and got great results!  Pastels are such an easy medium and this gave my kids the confidence and desire to do it again!  The ebook has lots of spring pastel tutorials to choose from!

shamrock pastels

And another thing I liked about this activity… I have a festive St. Patrick’s Day display in my kitchen!  🙂

sp kitchen display

Don’t forget to teach your little ones about the Trinity on St. Patrick’s Day and get out those art supplies and HAVE FUN! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Easy Art for St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Tricia

    Oh your chalk pastel shamrocks are beautiful!!! And I love them as a festive kitchen display! Also, do you mind if I quote you about our Seasonal Start in Spring Chalk Pastels?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

