Simple Joys {7.26.13}

Call me crazy, but I love new school supplies!  Aren’t new crayons pretty?

photo

I’ve been cleaning out all of the old markers and crayons to get ready for our new homeschool year.  I love it!

photo

Oh, and the school supply aisle at the store?!  Hold me back!  What a JOY!  🙂

photo-189

Cookie scoop, where have you been all my life?  Moms, if you don’t have one of these, get one! Oh my, I love it!  Perfectly round cookies, all the same size, in seconds!  Joy!

photo

Summer days…

photo-190

simple things liw

Playing dentist…

photo

photo

photo

Lego skates…photo

After our rain, Dad woke up and came in the kitchen where the kids and I were getting breakfast ready.  “Do you hear that guys?  Hear it?”  He cupped his hand around his ear, and all of the kids got quiet and listened for something.  “It’s cotton growing!” he said.  🙂

photo

The view from my bedroom window…  Leven asked for a push mower so that he can help with the yard.  Have you heard about the farmer who made his sons work in the field?  People asked him why his sons worked so hard and why he cared so much about raising that corn.  “I’m not raising corn,” he said.  “I’m raising men.”

photo-191

Leven really does like it.  He is enjoying a new responsibility, his new section of the front yard.photo

Twinnie hugs…

photo

“The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; You hold my lot.

The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places:

indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.”  Psalm 16:5-6

8 thoughts on “Simple Joys {7.26.13}

    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Ha ha! 😀 I know! I know! I am not quite ready to start, but the school supplies and new books trickling in from the UPS truck sure are exciting! We’ve got a trip to the beach coming up first!

      Reply
  1. godmadeknown

    Okay. I LOVE new school supplies, too, but all too soon the erasers are chewed off those nice new #2s, the pretty paper is peeled off the crayons, the glue’s glued shut, and I have a giant stack of construction paper with each sheet just barely used. So I’m trying something new this year to cut down on the waste and to try to teach some accountability for our things. I bought each boy a school box and filled it with all new pencils, pens, crayons, glue, tape, construction paper, etc… Everything they need for school and I colorcoded or put their initials on EVERYTHING. The deal is if they run out or ruin it, they have to buy their own replacement. (I also have purchased extras of each item while it’s cheap so they can buy from me and won’t have to pay full price when the time comes) Do you think it’ll work or am I crazy? Have any of your followers tried this?

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Oooooh! I love that idea! I just got all of the “community” baskets of crayons, markers, glue, scissors, and pencils ready and labeled in the kitchen cabinet, but I think I’m going to rearrange now and use your idea!! I did order my big kids clip board cases so that they can move around the house with all of their work, pencils, & checklists. (Checklists will be new for us this year. We’ll see how it works!) We find pencils all over the house! If they are initialed or color-coded, I bet that would stop pretty quickly! Mine each have their own bins where they keep their workbooks, so I could add supply boxes there! Then, I could have the space in the kitchen cabinet for something else! Love stewardship training, too! It’s a win for everyone! Thanks, GMK! 🙂 Love that!

      Reply
      1. godmadeknown

        A friend just passed on a book to me that I’m super excited about called “Sequential Spelling.” It’s a 5-minutes-a-day type format that involves me reading aloud a list of words all from the same word family aloud, and the boys (not grade specific so same lists can be used for multiple ages) write them in their notebook as best they can. Then I spell the words aloud and they self-correct. The next day, words from the same word family will be repeated and others added so there is always review without the need for weekly tests. Book 1 starts with “in” and ends with words like “dissatisfying” and has lists for 180 days. It’s extremely systematic and phonics driven, which of course drew me in immediately, and according to my friend, was inexpensive, too, which sold me on the spot.

        Reply
  2. mwfinchwren

    Thank you for your beautiful pictures….especially the ones in the cotton field! Reminds me of the part of the country I came from….but don’t live in anymore. Blessings to you on your homeschooling journey!
    –Wren
    P.S. We went to Office Max today for their teacher’s sale—open to homeschoolers too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

