June Fun and Silly Days

Here is the June Fun and Silly Days calendar!

Print one and have a party at your house, too!  Even if I just spend a little 15 minute chunk of time on these things here and there, it adds a little fun (and a good memory) to an otherwise ordinary day.

june fun and silly days

Here are some fun ideas and links:

Aquarium_Cups

.

Aquarium Month:  Make this Aquarium in a Cup snack from Kraft.  Which day did God create the things we can see in aquariums?

.

yogurt_zpsda010694

Dairy Month:  I am excited to try making yogurt in the crock pot!  This recipe is from Money Saving Mom.  I’ve got my ingredients and some fun jams, fruit, and chocolate chips for stir-ins.  Making yogurt at home might save this busy mom some trips to the store!  What does Paul say about milk in 1 Corinthians 3?

.

June 5- Richard Scarry’s Birthday:  Our Busytown books have always been favorites!  They would entertain us in the doctor’s office waiting room for hours!  Here is a Busytown Mysteries website.

June 8- Vacuum Cleaner Day:  Oh, I love this!  I think all children in my house will learn to use all of those fun attachments and do some dust zapping!  Woo hoo!

June 10-  Ben Franklin’s Kite Day:  I’m sure we’ll read about this and fly grocery bags.  Yep, that’s right!  We’ve found that plastic grocery bags and yarn make great kites!  So, go fly a grocery bag!  I think we’ll talk about some of Benjamin Franklin’s great quotes, too!  “Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.”  “Well done is better than well said.” “A good example is the best sermon.”  And the debatable, “Wine is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.”  Did he really say that?  I’ve always loved Psalm 104:14-15.  What do you think?

June 12- Anne Frank’s Birthday:  My oldest daughter (7) has read 2 Anne Frank biographies.  Our grandparents just visited Anne Frank’s house!  They brought us another book that we are excited to read!  Did you know that Anne Frank’s diary was a birthday gift?  Maybe we’ll start journals of our own!  

120308-yarn1June 14- Sandpaper invented in 1834:  I am always thinking about life skills.  Do my children know how to change batteries, put gas in a car, mop, use sandpaper?  Time for a quick lesson!  I’ve also been wanting the preschoolers to make yarn pictures on sandpaper!  Fun!  This activity is from Momtastic.

June 16- Father’s Day:  I’m on the lookout for some good crafts!  Any ideas?

June 17-  Eat Your Veggies Day:  Here’s a cute lesson all about farming from Daddy’s Tractor using the book Who Grew My Soup? Kids find out just where all those goodies come from, sort veggies, and make soup!  Great for Eat Your Veggies Day!

antsluggardJune 18-  International Picnic Day:  After your picnic, learn about ants!  And then open your Bibles and learn about what hard workers they are!  We did this ant lesson from Heart of Wisdom last year as part of our First Day of Summer fun.  I still have this great little gem comparing ants and sluggards printed, laminated, and hanging in my kitchen!  I refer to it often!

June 21-  First Day of Summer:  You can click here to read about our First Day of Summer fun last year.  We went on a scavenger hun and nature hunt, made giant bubbles, and made snow cones!

first day of summer

June 23- Forgiveness Day:  Wow!  Get out your Bibles.  So much to talk about!  Maybe get a calculator, too!  What is seventy times seven?

June 25- LEON Day:  Leon is Noel spelled backwards.  It is exactly 1/2 a year until Christmas.  I’ve never heard of this…

img_3548

.

June 26- Toothbrush invented in 1498:  I like The Soda and Egg Brushing Experiment from Our Montessori Home.

.

June 27- Helen Keller’s Birthday:  My children have loved learning about this amazing woman!  This would be a great time to do some activities about our 5 senses and thank God for each of them!

There is a fun or silly day every day in June!  For more info:

http://familycrafts.about.com/library/spdays/bljundayslong.htm

http://www.holidayinsights.com/moreholidays/june.htm

Make every day a holiday!  Happy June!

19 thoughts on “June Fun and Silly Days

    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I’m not exactly on time. 😦 I should have posted this before June began! Oh well! We celebrated some of the April silly days. My kids had a great time even when we only spent a few minutes having fun. Here we go again! Hope you have fun!

      Reply
  1. godmadeknown

    Love the scripture references mixed in with all the fun. By the way, the wine quote by old Ben isn’t exactly verbatim. The original was in the context of the Marriage of Cana and the daily miracle of rain into grapes into wine we all witness. I agree with you that the Psalmist worded it much better :). Happy Summer to you all!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Ok! Glad to know! 🙂 I had always heard the quote with “beer” rather than “wine”. When I looked it up for this post, I found both ‘beer’ and ‘wine’ along with a much longer quote regarding the miracle as you said. I was a bit worried about believing he said any of it. I should have known that you would know!! 🙂 Miss hearing about you guys! Happy Summer to you, too! Hope you are feeling ok! I bet it’s great to have Dad home and a school year behind you as you prepare (?) for Baby. Countdown is on, right? August? We are praying for you!

      Reply
  2. prairiepaisley.jodi

    Oh my gosh, you are so stinkin’ cute, can I please be a long lost sister?! How fun I am so going to do some of these fun things, is there a site you are getting this fun stuff from? I was thinking about you and your family and praying for you and your safety with all the storms last week! Please know that your blog has encouraged me to put some more fun in our school days….it’s hard when you are in the thick of things not to get routined and boring and too school like! Thanks:)

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      That touches my heart! Thank you. The storms have not been too good for the farm. We would love your prayers! There is just so much to get done in such a small window, but we have always been okay! This year will be okay, too– whatever the outcome. My husband is SO confident that this farm is His! It is nice to see my husband’s peace about it.

      I have plenty of those “in the thick of things” days! I just don’t put them on here! Ha! 🙂 Thanks for your encouragement! We’d love a long lost sister… or 3! 🙂

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      You are too kind. I did actually think of myself as creative at one time. Then I realized that if I borrow others’ ideas, maybe I’m not that creative after all! I’m still looking for my gift! Oh well…

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      You are certainly the homeschooling-holiday-expert! 😉 Lots of fun at your house, I know! I keep meaning to come back to your June post and check out your favorite links! Will do that soon!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: June Fun and Silly Days « Crafts For Preschoolers | Crafts For Preschoolers

Leave a Reply

