Pony Bead Suncatchers

This simple spring craft turned out so pretty and brightened our cloudy day!
pony bead post

Put translucent pony beads into baking pans.  We used several different sizes.pony beads in pans

Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 to 30 minutes.  (There were some pretty yucky smells.  You may want to plan to play outside while the beads bake… maybe even open the windows and find the Febreeze.)

photo

Let the suncatchers cool.  I moved ours outside.  They popped right out of the pans after cooling for a bit.  The pans were fine– no damage or residue!  Yay!photoUse a drill to make holes in the suncatchers.  You may not have a helper as handy as mine for your drilling.  I’m sorry!  😉

drilling suncatchers

All that’s left to do is add string for hanging.  We used some wire to add fun beads!  Done!

Suncatchers collage

suncatcher with art

I know you are wondering about this fun, whimsical artwork in my kitchen window, aren’t you? “When it comes to school, there’s no place like home.”  How cute is that?!  I love it!  I also got one for my girls… “You are beauty full”  The artist is a sweet, homeschooling, Christian mommy at LIGHT ON A HILL.  Click over to visit her art room and see the fun things she and her girls are creating!  I can’t wait to get another post from this crew!  I wish I could join the fun!  You can also visit their Etsy shop Prairie Paisley {mixed media art} and snag your own cuteness!  You’ll find lots of encouragement and love!  ❤

13 thoughts on “Pony Bead Suncatchers

  1. daddystractor

    First, that is so fun! Second, you are so brave! Putting pony beads in your pans and allowing them to finish baking even after the funny smell– I think that’s mom of the year stuff 🙂

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Well, it WAS fun! We didn’t get into intricate designs like I thought we might though. We started and then the beads would get bumped. The only way I could get Leven involved was to promise drilling!

      Reply
  2. Happily Occupied Homebodies

    These are so pretty! I see a scalloped edge on one. How’d you manage that? I just might have to try this as a summer craft for the kids. Hey, maybe we could hang them in our camper windows for our big trip this summer!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      The camper would be perfect! Sounds like a fun summer for your crew! You must have a pretty big camper for all of those HOHs! I think you can even hang them outside. I’m thinking they would be neat for our new treehouse. The scalloped edge was from a disposable cake pan. I will be on the lookout for fun baking pan shapes around holidays!

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      The smell was gone in 30 minutes or so after turning off the oven? I can close doors to my kitchen, so it wasn’t a big deal at our house. I used the fabric Febreze and the air freshener Febreze, and it seemed to help! I let them cool 15 minutes!

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Hi there! Thanks for your comment! I read your post about comments! Loved it, but still didn’t comment. 😦 I have had so much fun looking around your blog. I saw a few weeks back that you linked to your messy party! That is the best idea! So, so fun! I am trying to decide if I’m brave enough for that one! Ha ha! Thanks for stopping by here!

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I think maybe I should have left mine in a little longer because they are still a bit bumpy (but very pretty). I just looked to make sure they had melted– and then gave them a bit more! Maybe a little bumpy is okay!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Things to Do This Summer With the Kids | Happily Occupied Homebodies

Leave a Reply

