Spring Snapshots From Our Farm

spring on the farm

Things are finally turning green all around us!  It makes me happy!  I’ve been snapping pictures of the farm with my phone.  You won’t see too much tractor action in these photos… because there hasn’t been any!  It has been WET, WET, WET this spring, and the tractors have hardly gotten to the field!  I have learned that farming is an occupation that teaches you trust… trust in the One who gives the increase!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

…………………………..

In the past two months– traditional prep and planting months– we have only been able to work in the field 8 days!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

………………………………

The wheat is so green and beautiful!  It will be ready for harvest in early June.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

……………………………

We had our first garden last year.  We are giving it another try!  I loved my lettuce SO much last year, that I think it decided to come back– in the yard!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

………………………………….

The kids (and parents?) playing in the corn…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We’ve also enjoyed other treasures of Spring in the South… birds, eggs, buds, flowers, grass heads 🙂 , and a little bit of sunshine…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~~  I hope you are enjoying God’s handiwork, too!  ~~

You can read about last year's garden here.

You can read about last year’s garden here. 

last year’s lettuce

 

 

 

 

 

harvest time

harvest time

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Spring Snapshots From Our Farm

  1. daddystractor

    Loved browsing through your pics! You have such big, open, flat fields!! I also loved the sunrise pic, and pretty much everything in the corn, and the wheat. And the tractor. All right, I like ’em all!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Isn’t that neat? We usually have at least one or two killdeer nests in our driveway rocks each spring. The mommies pretend their wings are hurt and run away from the nest to distract enemies (my suburban!) and lead them in the wrong direction. It took me some time to learn about country life! I thought we had little birds with broken wings hoping for help! We also caught an opossum (or is it ‘a possum’?) who gave birth to lots of babies in the live trap/ cage. Then she died! I saw these babies crawling around their “dead” mother with her four feet straight up in the air. I was so sad. “Haven’t you heard of ‘playin’ possum’?” my husband said! I’m gradually learning! 🙂

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I know! Love farm life with all of it’s new green this time of year. It makes for great homeschool days. I am so thankful to be right where I am and thankful that dad is never too far away. My cup runneth over! 🙂

      Reply
      1. prairiepaisley.jodi

        Oh my gosh your garden was beautiful, gardening here is a super chore! We have a very short growing season! Thank you for all your encouragement with the shop:) hope you got my etsy email, your canvas is going to be shipped tomorrow:) Thanks a bunch:)

        Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      You are right! Spring is a great time to live on our farm! The weather is perfect and things are beginning to look so fresh and new! Now summer, that’s a different story! We’ll have temps over 100, no breezes, and misquotes so thick that going outside is miserable– or dangerous! Good time to head to Florida! 🙂

      Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Yep! Boys love tractors!! I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but one of my littles wears a John Deere shirt EVERY day. Every. Every. Day. If it had been my first child, there is no way I would have let that happen! With the fourth, it’s no big deal! Just wait, girl! 🙂 I’m enjoying your blog! I haven’t stopped thinking about your tandem nursing. You are amazing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

