Measuring Noah’s Ark… a BIG job!

measuring the ark

Doesn’t this sound fun?!   I think I may have been more excited than the kids to get to see how big the ark really was!  We’ve been wanting to measure the ark for quite a while, but the weather has been better for indoor activities here!  A rainy February {finally} ended with March coming in like a lion– snow flurries, freezing temps, and more rain!

Image

But we finally got a warmer day! Hurray! (Notice the wind is 26 mph!)

photo

ark heading out to field

I can’t think of a better way to use an unplanted field!

We began measuring at this pine tree.

We began measuring at this pine tree.

measuring tape1:2 size

ark - this long!

Whoa!  Can you believe it?!  Awesome!  I think dinosaurs and just about everything else could fit on a boat this big!

If we stacked 4 of these porte-cocheres on top of each other, they would equal the ark’s height!

ark height

We were not able to get the width measured because of WIND!  Whew!

photo

The FUN idea for measuring the ark came from this great history curriculum that my sweet friend let me borrow. (Thanks, Sarah!)  I love it!  I’ve updated my curriculum page with this information and some other changes in our curriculum since the beginning of the school year!

Click the candle to go to the curriculum page.

lamp unto my feet

16 thoughts on “Measuring Noah’s Ark… a BIG job!

  1. godmadeknown

    Your farm looks so fun, even in the wind! Perfect timing again on the Ancient Civilizations book recommendation. My oldest was asking for a book on Bible Archeology yesterday so I’ll be shopping for a copy of that one today!

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      I really “need” a curriculum for History and Bible… someone has to connect all the dots for me! We’ve been using Veritas Press. They give no dates for any Biblical events until after Babel. However, many resources they suggest using to supplement date the Great Pyramid and Old Kingdom in Egypt before the Flood. I just don’t think a pyramid could survive the Flood. All that to say, I’ve been looking for another resource/ curriculum. This Ancient Civilizations and the Bible follows a Biblical chronology. I have enjoyed it. The kid’s activity book is really just full of crossword puzzles and simple activities. Not sure how helpful it would be for archeology. Also, do you have any suggestions for spelling and grammar? 🙂 Workbooks are fine with me.

      Reply
      1. godmadeknown

        I read some more really good reviews on Ancient Civilization and the Bible and am ordering the text without the workbook. Not ready to tackle teaching history head on. Hadn’t planned on starting this unit for a couple years but my oldest is chomping at the bit so I’m giving it to him as an “elective.” He can read all about it to his hearts content and teach the others when they’re ready :). Our spelling is very hodge-podge. I just throw out whatever lists I find, let them copy them, and quiz them on them later. Not a thorough system and will have to be revamped next year. For grammar, I love the Rod and Staff Building Christian English Series. My 2 olders read the sections out loud together then I assign one or two of the simple drills. It’s thorough almost to the point of repetitive and CHEAP, plus I’m a sucker for all those charming scenes of traditional Mennonite farm life :).

        Reply
        1. i have no greater joy Post author

          Yes! We read through some of the Pathway Readers… don’t think that’s Rod and Staff but still charming Amish farm life full of good lessons! I will look at the Building Christian English! I also want to look for the red song book you mentioned a while ago!

          Reply
  2. Joyce

    My kids would have loved this! I’ll have to figure out how I can pull it off since there’s not too many large open spaces near us. Makes me wish I lived on a farm. Looks beautiful over there!

    Reply
  3. justneedcoffee

    That is the best way to share with the kiddos about the ark that I have ever seen!! Now they will have a better understanding!! Love that idea!! I will give you the kudos since you read the book and put the idea to use!! Good job!! You rock!!

    Reply
  4. prairiepaisley.jodi

    Loooove this activity, we did this a couple years ago and it really was huge! I love your farm pictures, we really would like to do sheep farming but we don’t know where? I saw one of your comments about looking for grammar and spelling and my girls have really enjoyed the Learning Language Arts Through Literature! We have also done the Rod and Staff but they don’t seem to explain very well and the girls enjoy the workbook style of the other better…just some ideas:) we also use the Spelling Power system and it’s great and one book takes you through High School. Have a super fun weekend with your family:)

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Thank you! I love hearing ideas for experienced moms! This is our first year to HS, and I find the best advice comes from real people, not reviews online! 😉 I will check those out! I have not heard of Spelling Power. Can’t wait to read about it! Thank you! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

