The Birthday Buddies: Interviews with My Irish Twins

5 years ago ~ turning 2 and 3

5 years ago ~ turning 2 and 3

My Irish twins’ birthdays are just one day apart!  Catherine was born the day before Leven’s first birthday.  For one day in February each year, they are both the same age!  It’s so fun!  This year they were both 7 for one day!

My four-year-old girl-boy twins have always thought that Leven and Catherine are twins, too.  🙂

Catherine is minutes old.  Leven is 364 days old.

Catherine is minutes old. Leven is 364 days old.

I saw birthday interview on a friend’s blog, and I love the idea!  Here are my interviews with Leven and Catherine…

Ladies first- Catherine:

DSC_1247

How old are you?  7

What is your favorite book?   Hmmm.  That’s too hard.  I love lots of books.  I’ll say Berenstain Bears.

How would you describe yourself in one word?  Well, I want to be clever.  That’s not one word.  I know.

Favorite food:  Cheddar cheese

Favorite movie:  Little House on the Prairie  (We have the DVDs of all of the episodes, so to her, this is a movie.)

Favorite thing to do in your free time:  make pot holders and crafts

Catherine read her first Little House book this year.  She's making Little House crafts and dressing like the characters.

Catherine read her first Little House book this year. She’s making Little House crafts and dressing like the characters.

Favorite subject:  Science

What do you want to be when you grow up?  I want to be a mom– and an author in my free time, you know- if my kids take a nap. ( 😉 )

Favorite song:  Psalm 98

DSC_2352

Favorite game:  hide-and-seek

Favorite toy:  Sally and Butterscotch (her doll and horse)

Favorite snack:  crackers with butter

Favorite thing about our home:  It’s fun!

Greatest blessing:  My best blessings are my brothers and sister.  I never get lonely.  Someone always pops up and asks me to play or talks to me.

How do you see yourself in 10 years?  You know, a teenager

What would you say to someone you just met?  My family has 4 kids and a dog.  I want to be your friend.

Do you have a goal for yourself?  To do the right things everyday.  How do you know what is the right thing?  The Bible tells me.

What is your best joke?  How can a farmer win an award?  He must be “outstanding” in his field.

What do you think is special about you?  I am the richest girl in Arkansas because I have the best family.

photo

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?  I want to go to Israel and Hawaii.

Leven IV:

DSC_1134

How old are you?  8

What is your favorite book?   The Bible

How would you describe yourself in one word?  Young man.  (That’s not one word, either.)

Favorite food?  bacon

Favorite movie?  God’s Outlaw

Favorite thing to do in your free time:  explore outside

I think he would live outside if I would let him!  Here he is planning a tree house at 6 am in his pjs!

I think he would live outside if I would let him! Here he is planning a tree house at 6 am in his pjs!

Favorite subject:  Math

What do you want to be when you grow up?  a farmer, an explorer, or a scientist

Favorite song:  All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name to the tune of Diadem

photo

Favorite game:  Do you mean on the iPad or a real game?  I like the car racing game on the  iPad or chess if you mean a real game.

Favorite toy:  Well, it’s not a toy, but I really like my bb gun.

He's a pretty good shot!

He’s a pretty good shot!

Favorite snack:  peanut butter rice cake

Favorite thing about our home:  my room

Greatest blessing:  my family

How do you see yourself in 10 years?  strong, a hard worker, and handsome

the Outdoor Boys in their winter uniforms of skunk and coon hats

the Outdoor Boys in their winter uniforms of skunk and coon hats

What would you say to someone you just met?  I live on a farm, and I’m 8.

Do you have a goal for yourself?  to be more Christlike

What is your best joke?  Why didn’t the chicken cross the road?  He was chicken.

What is special about you?  I am like my dad.

DSC_1644

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?  my home

In the past, Leven and Catherine have raised money on their birthdays instead of receiving gifts to donate to Christian charities that are meaningful to our family.

photo

IMGP1453This year, they picked a goat and chickens for World Vision.  As much as they like helping others, I think what they’d really like are a goat and chickens on our farm!  We’ll see, guys…  Mom has to be able to handle the laundry well before taking on a goat!  😉

photo

14 thoughts on “The Birthday Buddies: Interviews with My Irish Twins

  1. Deborah Webb

    This page is absolultey precious Shannon. How perfectly wonderful that they love, love being at home…. family is everything and as Catherine said – fun 🙂

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Ha ha… fun would be an understatement! Wouldn’t you agree? It’s more like the Family Circus! Never a dull moment here! 🙂 I am very glad they love it, though! They love the grandparents of the family, too!

      Reply
  2. Tea Cups and Trucks

    I had my oldest and my twins in 12 months and 2 days giving us Irish ‘triplets’. I love that you took the time to get to know them individually. I think I allow mine to be wrapped up in each other’s play so much I forget to seek out knowing each of them. Don’t misunderstand, I know some of their favorites. But I think I need to sit down and ask them! I love your intentional recognition and celebration of who they are. You have encouraged and inspired me.

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Wow! I bet there is lots of fun at your house! So three under 2? I thought 4 under 4 was challenge! Great job, Mama! It is a challenge for me to know each one, as well. I completely understand!

      Reply
  3. Joyce

    This is so precious. I love the very simple way children see life. I also love all the cute things that children say. I keep a journal of all my kids funny quotes and it’s hilarious to re-read them.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Easy Ideas for Learning Letters | i have no greater joy

  5. Pingback: Reflections… 1 year of blogging {it’s just me} | i have no greater joy

  6. Pingback: Remember Me? | i have no greater joy

Leave a Reply

