Encouraging Words Build Us Up… for Valentine’s Day!

encouraging valentines

Waaaaay back in September, I mailed the children letters.  I wanted to encourage them in their new homeschool journey.  I wanted to give them confidence in their tasks.  I wanted to inspire them to do their best work and persevere through some struggles!  Plus, I just thought it would be fun!  They loved getting letters in the mail from Mom, and I keep meaning to do it again!  However, I still haven’t!

photo

My sweet just-turned-four little Mary Sorrels gave me this note yesterday out of the blue.  She said, “Look, Mama! It’s mail for you, Mama!  I love you!”  It made my day!

photo

So, I’ve been thinking… why not send each other encouraging notes instead of valentines? Why not spend more time on the words than glitter?  🙂  We’ve decided to send each other notes of encouragement each day until February 14th!  I helped the kids cover some cracker and oatmeal boxes we already had with paper to make “mailboxes” that hold all of those notes “good to the use of edifying”.  Then we added a sticker to remind us of our purpose in this!  (I wanted to use some cups or jars and skip the decorating of boxes, but I’ve got a six-year-old crafter who looks for any excuse to get out stickers and scissors!)

build one another up

I gave them some notepads, and they started thinking and writing!  I’ve seen some pretty good little notes so far, and I hope this helps them to look for ways to use encouraging words even more.  They are really excited about writing and receiving!  Here are some they’ve written:

“I am thankful for you.”

“I think you did a good job naming trains today.”

“You are good at crazy skills.” (read all about crazy skills here)

“I love you to Pluto and back.”

I think each day the kiddos will improve their encouraging abilities!  I am looking for ways to praise the children for good character.  (I like really this chart.)

encouraging notes

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.”  Ephesians 4:29

“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up!”  1 Thessalonians 5:11  (We really can’t even say this because we are so used to singing it!  We love Steve Green’s Hide ‘Em In Your Heart!)

Happy Encouraging!  

4 thoughts on “Encouraging Words Build Us Up… for Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

