Fun with Joseph on Our Journey Through Genesis

joseph suncatchers

We are still journeying through Genesis at our house!  Here are some of the crafts we enjoyed while learning about Joseph and his life in Egypt.

Signet Rings

“Then Pharaoh took his signet ring from his hand and put it on Joseph’s hand, and clothed him in fine linen and put a gold chain about his neck.”  Genesis 41:42

This craft got a little messy, so I’m glad we used washable ink!  We used pipe cleaners and beads to make rings that fit little fingers.  We cut small ovals from styrofoam plates and pressed hieroglyph designs on our rings with pens.  Then we stamped away!

signet ring craft

Signet ring stamps

 {simple} Joseph Snacks

This was easy, fun, and required almost no prep!  Yay for Mom!  We decorated Joseph’s coat on coloring pages with goodies!

Joe snack

Joseph candy snack

Yep, I let them eat this. 🙂

Joseph’s Coat Sun-catchers

I’ve been wanting to make melted crayon sun-catchers with the kids for a while, and this seemed like the perfect time to do it!  What makes a more colorful sun-catcher than Joseph’s coat?!  I know you remember these, moms!  🙂

We used waxed paper, grated (with a cheese grater) crayons, and an iron.  IF YOU decide  to make these, use a towel between the waxed paper and the iron.  We found that a teeny-weeny amount of crayon shavings made the prettiest ones.

photo

photo

photo

Aren’t they precious?  Even my big guy who doesn’t get very excited about crafts wanted to see how his crayons would melt.  And… so that these crafts wouldn’t be totally void of learning 😉 (although they were done in addition to our assignments), the big kids and I discussed character qualities that Joseph displayed throughout his life.  We came up with quite a lengthy list!  The littles retold the story as we worked.

Our journey through Genesis continues as we learn more about life (and death) in Ancient Egypt at the time of Joseph!  We’ve been studying mummies!  Yuck… more to come!  I’d rather make cute sun-catchers myself!  😉

images-55

5 thoughts on “Fun with Joseph on Our Journey Through Genesis

    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Thank you. I love those sweet little Joseph faces… much more than the coats! I have a few questions about Aologia… I thought (yes, brilliant me) that if I started in 3rd grade, my oldest kiddos would finish all days before high school in 9th. I picked an overview course of all 6 days for our science this year because we are doing 2nd grade. Now, I realize that the “young explorers” only goes thru 7th grade , so we won’t actually finish the young explorers before moving on to the 9th grade course– at least the oldest ones will not. It’s not the end of world, but would you suggest going in order or just picking our interest? Do you really like it? Do you plan to use it again next year? Can I email you? 🙂 or you can email me if this is too long to comment on now. Thanks 🙂

      Reply
      1. godmadeknown

        Okay, I thought I was actually emailing a response to you but it showed up in my own comments instead, but now that I’ve reread your questions I’m not sure I really answered them anyway. So I’ll do that here and hope nobody else is trying to follow this scattered conversation.:) Astronomy is the first Apologia text I’ve used and I liked it enough that I’m probably going to use Flying Creatures next year. That said, I don’t see why you couldn’t do more than one subject in a year or skip one altogether if your kids just weren’t interested in it. I’m not one to stick to any publisher’s plan.:)

        Reply
  1. Jenn Hamm

    Loved the signet rings! Want to make them with my Sunday school class…we are studying Joseph!! How did you fix the styro part to the pipe cleaner ring?

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Hi there! I want to tell you that the ink was a bit messy. I would bring baby wipes! Ha ha! I just used tape for attaching the plate to the pipe cleaners. I will send you a pic! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by! I am so glad you found something useful! I love finding new Bible ideas! Yay!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

