Advent At Our House… “no room for them in the inn”

a goat on our field trip

Sometimes I wonder if my children really “get it”… understand what Jesus did for us.  Then I realize that I don’t fully understand it!  I can’t quite wrap my head around the amazing love, the amazing sacrifice for us.  This Advent season we are trying to dig in and soak up and fully comprehend this Gift we were given that first Christmas.

We’ve talked about the sacrifice Jesus made out of His great love for us… the sacrifice in His death but also the sacrifice in His life here on earth when God stepped into history as a man.  The children and I have discussed what heaven must be like… perfect, full of glory, joy, no sadness, no sickness, no sin, no death, beautiful to behold.  That was the home of Jesus.  In heaven he was rich!  Everything in heaven and earth belonged to Him!  He was almighty, Lord of heaven and earth with angels praising Him!  Yet He left his riches to sleep in a manger beside the animals.  He left His power to become a helpless baby.  Love. For. Us.  Wow.

sheep

I think my kiddos and I have often pictured this place where Jesus was born as a cozy little stable with cute little lambs.  I think we needed a better picture, so we visited barn animals.  It wasn’t quite as cute and cozy as the pictures we see in books.

Catherine with cowsIn fact, it was pretty stinky!  🙂  It was dirty.  It was the opposite of heaven!  We watched the animals and tried to take in all the sights, sounds, smells, and we thought about our almighty Savior being born right there in the middle of it!

horses

donkey

Thou Who Wast Rich

“For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you by his poverty might become rich.”  

2 Corinthians 8:9

4 thoughts on “Advent At Our House… “no room for them in the inn”

    1. Shannon Post author

      I think we all thought about Christmas in a new way after that field trip! 🙂 I loved your post this morning. I am always excited to read about your sweet ones and am still debating about emailing you! 🙂

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Advent At Our House {2013} | i have no greater joy

Leave a Reply

