Lessons for Mom… 4 Things I’ve Learned in 8 Weeks of Homeschool

1.  I’ve learned that I have a lot to learn!  I don’t know as much as I thought.  “A haughty spirit goes before a fall.”  Proverbs 16:18  Well, what can I say?  I’ve had a few stumbles!  Everything that I know— no, no– everything that I thought I knew about teaching, homeschooling, child rearing, organizing, and keeping a home has been challenged in this 8 weeks!  The laundry is difficult to keep up with.  The school stuff is trickling into at least 4 rooms.

The curriculum I’ve chosen for some subjects just isn’t fitting us as well as I’d hoped.  There have been moments when I’ve been clueless about how to handle discipline issues and wondered what “a good mom” would do.  But God is using even these for His glory!

I’m learning more each day about how make this thing {life} work, and I want to do it with joy!

I am being forced {thankfully} to realize that I can do nothing apart from Him.  And I think maybe I was trying to, relying on my own strength and knowledge instead of His.  The greatest place that I can be is on my knees {and I’m there a lot lately} seeking His counsel, seeking His face, seeking His mercy and grace. For when I come to Him, He gives me rest.  I don’t know much of anything, but He has every answer.  He is so faithful to give them.

2. “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”  Proverbs 19:21  The wrinkled schedule is still hanging on the memo board in the kitchen, but no one even looks at it.  I do still try to loosely follow it because that’s just “me.”  I’ve changed it several times, and I think we’re finally getting the kinks worked out and getting to a good place…

…but it’s the little {many} God-given interruptions that are so much more important than that schedule.  It is hard for me, but I am learning to attend and minister to those interruptions.  For it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.

3.  There is nothing that we do in any given day that is more important than keeping, teaching, and shepherding my children’s hearts. No lesson, no activity, no group of facts or study matters as much.  “Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.”  Proverbs 4:23.

It sounds so simple and so easy– put their hearts first.  Charles has always told me, even before the children were born, about the importance of keeping and tending their hearts.  I’ve read the books– twice.  Yet, somehow, during the busyness of our first month of the school year, without even realizing it, I made teaching the lessons, learning the facts, sticking to my plans, and keeping up with my responsibilities my highest priority.  To me, making sure I got things done was the way to be a good teacher, wife, and mother.  I began trying to conveniently, quickly correct the sighs and excuses- the behavior- instead of the sins- the dishonor, the pride.  I wasn’t stopping to tend this vineyard that God has entrusted to my care.  I wasn’t taking the time to carefully prune it.  I became that “continual dripping” of a mom, nagging the children instead of parenting them.  Let me tell you, being a “continual dripping” is SO exhausting!  It was worn out, and so were the kids.  My wise, loving husband gently reminded me and guided back on the right path.  What a difference it makes.  There is joy in our homeschool again.  I don’t fall apart when a child with wet hair tells me he had to fill up the sink and stick his head in to make sure the snorkel works.  It’s all gravy, baby!  🙂  When I know their hearts are with me and serving and loving the Lord, I am able to enjoy this life with all it’s messes and interruptions.   “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.”  That’s really what it’s all about.

I just got this new “happy” for my kitchen.  Perfect for me, huh?  🙂  It is a constant reminder of the most important things… guiding my children in the Truth and shepherding those hearts.

4.  I’ve learned that I wouldn’t trade this for the world!  I knew that I would enjoy homeschool, but I never knew the way God would work on me and us through this!  Our family, Mom and Dad included 😉 , is really growing in a way I didn’t expect.  I am enjoying this so much more than I even thought I would.    Watching my kids learn, play, grow, laugh, and love together is such a precious gift, and I really wouldn’t trade it for anything.

{Check out this Etsy shop for info on the wooden sign!}

3 thoughts on “Lessons for Mom… 4 Things I’ve Learned in 8 Weeks of Homeschool

  1. Homeschool Crafts

    Your post is indeed very encouraging (albeit I’m reading this very much later). As a young homeschooler, we are still searching our way along and sometimes, feeling the pressure from the “seasoned” homeschoolers – be it curriculum, progress of the child, and activities we do. It’s crazy, I know.

    It’s only when I take a step back, breathe and rest in His presence where I find sanity and peace; knowing everything’s going to be alright. Every now and then I still fall into the mindless “trap” but I know He’s watching over us.

    Thank you for your wonderful sharing.

    Reply
    1. i have no greater joy Post author

      Thank you for your encouragement! I still feel like a new homeschoolers, too! I love what you said about taking a step back and resting in Him. That makes such a big difference doesn’t it? Just stopping and breathing and realizing this is just a tiny moment. There is a much bigger picture, and yes! Everything is going to be ok! (I’m telling myself!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

