Psalm 1 Study and Activities

Since my children were babies, I have been praying Psalm 1 and Jeremiah 17 for them… oh that they would be like the righteous, like that tree planted by the water, that they would delight in the law of the Lord!  I LOVE those passages, and I knew that Psalm 1 would be one of the big kids’ memory verses this summer.

Here is our family tree, our Psalm 1 artwork that we created together…

As we studied a new word, “scoffers,” we were able to practice some dictionary skills… as well as have some character training!

We have had the perfect opportunity where we live to think about a plant, tree, or leaf and how it would look if it didn’t have any water, how it would look in a season of drought. It has been so very hot here, and we have needed rain on our crops for so long! We know that we don’t want to be like those leaves without water that wither, but we want to be strong and green and bear fruit!  Yay!  God’s word tells us just how to do that!!

1. Temps have been as hot as 106 here!  2. We have the weather streamed into our kitchen (of course!)…that’s the first rain image we’ve seen in weeks!  3. Wa-hoo!! Rain!!  4. Hey, who are those guys? We haven’t been able to change the weather at morning meeting until now!

I’m counting my blessings each day- so thankful for the rain we got since our crops are not planted by streams of water! 🙂  “then I will give you your rains in their season, and the land shall yield it increase, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit.” Leviticus 26:4

I have loved our study of Psalm 1, and I love that my children are hiding it in their hearts.  What a wonderful passage for us to keep there.  I will continue to pray that for each of them!

2 thoughts on “Psalm 1 Study and Activities

  1. Stacy

    Hey! I just happened to stumble across your blog when I was doing a search for the ACTS prayer for kids & I’m so glad I found it! I see that you just started recently & you are a homeschooling mom! I am starting to homeschool my 4 year old daughter next month and I’m excited, yet a little nervous at the same time…We are going to use a program called Classical Conversations that we go to once a week together and then I’m supplementing with alot too. I signed up to get your new posts by email & I can’t wait to read more of your fun ideas! I love all of your biblical lessons! 🙂 I’m at http://www.thefancyfritter.blogspot.com. So nice to “meet” you! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Shannon Post author

      Hi, Stacy! So nice to “meet” you, too! Congrats on your decision to homeschool! 🙂 I have heard a lot of good things about CC! We have those groups close to where I live, as well! We are following a somewhat classical model, too! Your blog is so fun, and you are so talented! It’s just so cute! 🙂 I loved checking out your Etsy shop! Wow! I am looking forward to following you, too! Thanks bunches!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

